Banking Breaking News Economic Finance

Banks to remain closed on April 14 in these cities, open in these 7 states; check full list

Public holiday, Dr babasaheb ambedkar jayanti, Tamil New Year's Day, negotiable instruments law 1881Although banks in most states will remain closed on Wednesday, services such as ATM access, mobile banking and online banking will remain available.

Banks will remain closed in most states on Wednesday April 14, 2021, due to Dr Babasaheb Ambedkar Jayanti. Only public holidays are observed by banks all over the country. According to the Reserve Bank of India (RBI), with the exception of 7 states, all states will observe a public holiday on Dr Babasaheb Ambedkar Jayanti. On this day, some states will celebrate Tamil New Year, Vishu, Biju festival, Cheiraoba and Bohag Bihu. This was notified by RBI under the Tradable Instruments Act. Including weekends and festivals, up to 15 public holidays have been notified by RBI for this month, which may vary state to state and be different at various banks.

Banks will remain operational on April 14 in these states

On April 14, 2021, state banks such as Aizawl, Bhopal, Chandigarh, New Delhi, Raipur, Shillong and Shimla will remain operational. Called Puthandu, this day is also observed as Tamil New Year’s Day.

Banks will remain closed against Dr Babasaheb Ambedkar Jayanti

Banks across Agartala, Ahmedabad, Belapur, Bengaluru, Bhubaneswar, Chandigarh, Chennai, Dehradun, Gangtok, Guwahati, Hyderabad, Imphal, Jaipur, Jammu, Kanpur, Lochi, Kolkata, Lucknow, Mumbai, Nagpur, New Delhi, Panaji, Patna, Ranchi, Srinagar and Thiruvananthapuram, will observe a public holiday on April 14, 2021.

Although banks in most states will remain closed on Wednesday, services such as ATM access, mobile banking and online banking will remain available. However, people may not be able to deposit a check, withdraw, or deposit cash on this day.

April 18, 2021 – Weekly leave (Sunday)
April 21, 2021 – Shree Ram Navmi (Chaite Dashain) / Garia Puja
April 24, 2021 – Fourth Saturday
April 25, 2021 – Weekly leave (Sunday)

Apart from Wednesdays, banks will also remain closed on April 18 (Sunday), April 21 due to Ram Navmi, April 24 (fourth Saturday) and April 25 (Sunday).

Other state specific holidays this week

April 15, 2021 – Himachal Day / Bengali New Year / Bohag Bihu / Sarhul
April 16, 2021 – Bohag Bihu (Guwahati)

On April 15, banks in just five states – Agartala, Guwahati, Kolkata, Ranchi and Shimla will remain closed. While only Guwahati will observe a public holiday on April 16, 2021.

Get live stock quotes for BSE, NSE, US market and latest NAV, mutual fund portfolio, see latest IPO news, top performing IPOs , calculate your tax by income tax calculator, know the best market winners, the best losers and the best equity funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Financial Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay up to date with the latest news and updates from Biz.

About the author

Abhinav Garg

Leave a Comment