Tech News

5 things that can tell if someone has blocked you on WhatsApp

Written by News Sateek

WhatsApp allows you to block users of its platform from whom you do not wish to receive messages. You can also see the list of contacts that it has blocked. However, things are not the same when a user is blocked by someone and they want to see the contact who blocked them. For privacy reasons, WhatsApp does not display contacts that have blocked a user. But, there are a few indicators that can sort of confirm that you have been blocked.
You cannot see a contact’s last seen or online status in the chat window
This is one of the easiest ways to find out if you have been blocked by someone on WhatsApp. While it could also be because the user changed their ‘last visited’ settings, it is possible that if you can no longer see someone’s last seen and online status, you have been blocked by this one.
You don’t see updates to a contact’s profile picture
If you have been blocked by a user on WhatsApp, their profile picture will never change for you. You will always see the last photo they put when chatting with you before blocking you.
You see a single check mark for each message sent to a user
If you see unique ticks (message sent) for every message you send to a chat, then it is possible that you have been blocked by the user. The status of the sent message will never be updated to be delivered or changed with a double check mark for a thread in which you are blocked.
Any calls you try to make will not go through
If a user has blocked you on WhatsApp, you won’t be able to make a call to them.
You cannot add a user to a WhatsApp group
Try to add a user to a group and if you see this “you are not allowed to add this contact” message, then you have been blocked by that particular contact.
WhatsApp intentionally kept these indicators ambiguous
Readers should note that all of these flags can also be the result of a privacy setting change or a bad network error. But it is very unlikely that you will see all of these results at the same time. WhatsApp has made this intentionally ambiguous in order to protect your privacy when blocking someone.

About the author

News Sateek

Leave a Comment